1977First recipient of the Birdsall Distinguished Lecturer in Hydrogeology, awarded by the Geological Society of America, Hydrogeological Div., Washington, D.C.
1978Awarded Honorary Doctorate in Technological Sciences, by the Delft University, Delft, The Netherlands.
1980-1997Holding the Albert and Anne Mansfield Chair in Water Resources, at the Technion.
1988Elected Fellow of the American Geophysical Union.
1988Awarded Honorary Doctorate in Technological Sciences, by E.T.H., Zurich, Switzerland.
1990M. K. Hubbert Award by the National Ground Water Association.
1988Awarded the Rothschild Prize in Engineering, Israel.
2003Awarded the 2003 Excellence in Geophysical Education Award by the American Geophysical Union (AGU).
2006Elected Boussinesq Lecturer for 2006 by the Boussinesq Center for Hydrology by the Academy of Arts and Sciences, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.
2009Awarded (first) Honorary Lifetime Membership Award by INTERPORE –The Internationsl Society for Porous Media.
2010Awarded the 2010 ROBERT E. HORTON MEDAL "for outstanding contributions to hydrology" by the American Geophysical Union (AGU).
2015Awarded Honorary Member of the Israeli Association for Water Resources for "Lifetime Achievements and Contributions to Hydrology and Water Resources in Israel".